Sacred Life Sunday: You Can’t Hide Her Light

Proverbs 8, NKJV translation

Proverbs 8, NKJV translation

As I sat in church this morning next to Mom, listening to the deacons talk in their prayers about how far away our nation has gotten from God, and the Divine Wrath he will surely rain on our heads for various things (gay marriage–always a hot button, abortion, etc.), and asking God to please forgive our society for they know not what they do…

As I listened to the pastor preach about Jesus, and His supremacy…

I sat there, with something entirely different on my mind.  I flipped over to Proverbs.  Psalms and Proverbs are my refuges when I attend church to save face with and for my parents, when the sermons and the prayers, which often seem to resemble sermons, get too political and fire me up in the exact opposite way in which they’re intended.  These two books are more concerned with wisdom and with the ecstasy of experiencing God than setting out who is a sinner and who is righteous.

And, then, today, I read Proverbs 8 again.  I’m sure I’ve read it before, but I read it with seemingly new eyes this time, as it suddenly jumped out at me that Wisdom–or Sophia–is feminine!  Even in the English translations, Wisdom is referred to as “she” and “her”.  All these thousands of years, when society has been using The Bible, both Old Testament and New Testament, to attempt to justify so many years of “putting women in their place”, a glimmer of the Divine Feminine still shines through (emphasis mine):

Does not wisdom cry out, and understanding lift up her voice?  She takes her stand on the top of the high hill, beside the way, where the paths meet.  She cries out by the gates at the entrance of the doors: 

‘To you, O men, I call, and my voice is to the sons of men.  O you simple ones, understand prudence, and you fools, be of an understanding heart.  Listen, for I will speak of excellent things, and from the opening of my lips will come right things; for my mouth will speak truth; wickedness is an abomination to my lips.  All the words of my mouth are with righteousness; nothing crooked or perverse is in them.  They are all plain to him who understands, and right to those who find knowledge.  Receive my instruction, and not silver, and knowledge rather than choice gold; for wisdom is better than rubies, and all the things one may desire cannot be compared with her…

‘The Lord posessed me at the beginning of His way, Before His works of old.  I have been established from everlasting, from the beginning, before there was ever an earth.  When there were no depths I was brought forth, when there were no fountains abounding with water.  Before the mountains were settled, before the hills, I was brought forth; while as yet He had not made the earth or the fields, or the primal dust of the world.  When He prepared the heavens, I was there, when He drew a circle on the face of the deep, when He established the clouds above, when He strengthened the fountains of the deep, when He assigned to the sea its limit, so that the waters would not transgress His command, when He marked out the foundations of the earth, then I was beside Him as a master craftsman; and I was daily His delight, rejoicing always before him, rejoicing in His inhabited world, and my delight was with the sons of men.

‘Now therefore, listen to me, my children, for blessed are those who keep my ways.  Hear instruction and be wise, and do not disdain it.  Blessed is the man who listens to me, watching daily at my gates, waiting at the posts of my doors.  For whoever finds me finds life…'”

~ Proverbs 8: 1-11, 22-35, New King James Version

Growing up in a very patriarchal faith tradition, and an even more patriarchal church, it has sometimes felt strange thinking about the Divine Feminine as a concrete force in the Universe.   The faith in which we’re brought up can continue to influence us even if, and after, we’ve left that exact path behind.  Or, at least, so it was to me.  I could picture the Divine genderless or male, much easier than female.  Recently that got easier, but today sealed the deal.  To have a touchpoint of the Divine Feminine embedded in my past has solidified Her in my present.

I was reminded of an old song we used to sing in Sunday School when I was little:

This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

Hide it under a bushel?
No!  I’m gonna let it shine
Hide it under a bushel?
No!  I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.

Even though many have tried, they haven’t been able to hide the light of the Divine Feminine under a bushel.  If we look for Her light, we’ll see it still shines.  We’ll see the balance between the masculine and feminine. 

I do anticipate that this may ruffle some feathers, as it is an unconventional take upon the text, but I am not asking anyone else to believe my interpretation.  I am just happy that this is how it has spoken to me.

Categories: Sacred Life Sunday | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sacred Life Sunday: You Can’t Hide Her Light

  1. Hi. 🙂 Our pastor was talking about lights when he did his sermon last Sunday. It was, however, a message about how Christians are supposed to be letting their lights shine before men so those who are in darkness may find that Jesus is the One true Light.

    We may be women and the Christian faith patriarchal but that doesn’t mean that we aren’t important to our Maker. Very important, people would not be born into this world without us. 🙂

    Anyways, i was just taking a breather from the day’s tasks and i stumbled upon your blog. Keep writing. Keep blogging! See you around. 🙂

  2. I love that you found that and have shared. I beleive in the balance of male and female energy and love when we find glimpses of the Divine Feminine in what “others” have only seen as a patriarchal viewpoint.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

