Letting Out My Inner Domestic Goddess

Living with my parents has presented quite a few challenges.  One of them is that the kitchen is my Mom’s domain, and she has not, in general, taken well to interlopers other than my sister, who seemed demonstrably domestically-inclined.  As such, I haven’t ever cooked a meal entirely on my own in my own house.

There may be hope for my domestic skills after all, after years spent in doubt.

Today, my parents–even Mom–gave me free run of the kitchen at dinner time, and I took full advantage with spectacular results.  They were both pleasantly surprised, since my sister is generally regarded as “The Cook” out of the two of us, and me, “The Baker.”  (Ask the men of Psi Chi my senior year at university about the chocolate chip cookies they scarfed in 1/2 an hour for the club bake sale.)  Well, turns out I can cook and bake!

The menu?

Main Course: Broiled wild salmon fillets seasoned with a little olive oil, garlic powder, sea salt, and course black pepper, and topped with mandarin oranges and coursely-chopped scallions.

Sides: Roast asparagus seasoned with olive oil, garlic powder, course black pepper, and sea salt; roast organic baby portobello mushrooms basted with olive oil and sprinkled with garlic powder; baked potatoes.

Dessert: Assortment of fresh fruits Mom and I picked up today, being blackberries and kiwi, and the rest of the mandarin oranges I didn’t use in Dad’s bowl since he couldn’t have as much kiwi due to his diabetic sensitivity.

Now for the pictures….

Everything–except the potatoes, which were simply wrapped in aluminum foil and already in the oven–getting ready to go into the oven:

The salmon, prepped

The salmon, fully prepped and ready.

The asparagus and mushrooms ready to go in the oven.

The asparagus and mushrooms, waiting to go into the oven.

If you thought I was just going to lob things out onto plates, you have another thing coming.  I reserved some of the scallions and chopped them into a confetti consistency which I sprinkled over for garnish, nested the mushrooms amid the asparagus, fluffed the potatoes, and arranged things on–gasp–real plates!  Behold, the finished product:

All three of our plates arranged and garnished.

All three of our plates lined up on the table.

Close up of finished plate

A close up of one of the plates.

(Sorry, no pictures of dessert.  I was too busy eating it to take a picture.)

I never thought I would, but I actually did the whole dinner with no recipe, totally going on smell and such.  And it was wonderful!  Oh, my gosh.

Also, the pricetag for this dinner for 3?  Less than $15.00.  No joke!  Even with the organic mushrooms and the wild caught frozen salmon–a whole pound–it was under $15.00.  Plus, I have enough asparagus, salmon, and mushrooms left over to make 2, possibly 3, omelets for us for breakfast tomorrow!  So I’m a budget-friendly chef to boot!

*victory dance*

I actually really got into the cooking thing, almost trance-like.  I like it.  I like channeling my inner Hestia, single Goddess of the Hearth.

Oh, and I decisively won permission to cook Saturday evening dinner from now until I leave when I’m here and not sick!  Yippee!  We’ll have straight-up healthy dinners every Saturday!  And now I know–as does my family–that I can cook, so no more jokes about my cooking or lack thereof!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

