Belated Sacred Life Sunday: Casting Wishes

This Sunday, I decided to act upon an idea I’ve seen around.  One of my fellow participants in The Next Chapter has a wonderful idea about wishes on her site: wish jars.   I’d been thinking about making one for a while, but, yesterday, when I used my last chai teabag, I decided it would be a wish canister instead.  I’d have to go buy a jar; using the canister would mean I’d be using what I already had.

So I papered it in a scrap of wrapping paper, and pulled out pictures and words I had collected previously with collage projects in mind.  I hit upon one that was an artistic representation of the Hindu Goddess Lakshmi which I had clipped from an old Kripalu catalog.  (Sidenote:  One of these days, I’m going to go to a program or retreat at Kripalu.  That’s going on my bucket list!)  Lakshmi, according to the blurb I’d clipped out with it, is “[the] Shakti of Success, Abundance, Royalty, and Realization.”   That just seemed perfect, an archetypal reminder that wishes can come true, that dreams can be realized, and that we can receive and achieve abundance.

So, the results:

Front view of my wish canister.

Front view of my wish canister.

The lid of my wish canister.  Yes, very simplistic.

The lid of my wish canister. Yes, very simplistic.

This is the quote I wrote under Lakshmi:

A man, when he wishes, is the master of his fate.” — Jose Ferrer

Another quote I considered is this one:

“A prayer in its simplest definition is merely a wish turned Godward.” — Phillips Brooks

I dropped my first wish in last night, and it felt wonderful!

It has also come to my attention that there is an online activity much like Sacred Life Sunday and Thankful Thursday and such: Wishcasting. Every Wednesday is Wishcasting Wednesday.  I’m considering that as well.  There’s no denying, for me, that it’s a great idea.  We shall see.

I’m hoping this, among other things, will help me get back on track with the things that really matter to me.   I’ve let things less important to me and my happiness take over my life in recent weeks, and, as such, have been irritable and not behaving in a healthy manner by any means, which benefits no one and nothing.

Categories: Sacred Life Sunday | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Belated Sacred Life Sunday: Casting Wishes

  1. Love the wish container!

    Great idea!

    I, too, have noticed that site and found it intriguing.

    Interestingly enough, I have been pleading to Lakshmi for some time now. She keeps showing up in interesting places ~ including an old silver pendant brought back to me from India by an acquaintance who just returned from there 🙂

    Good energy indeed!

    Here’s hoping she helps you get back on track soon.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

