Bursting With Creativity Today

I feel quite crazy at the moment.

Yesterday, with the house to myself as the parents were returning HRH to university for the remainder of the semester, an idea for a novel or possible screenplay I’ve had knocking around in the back of my mind for a couple weeks now shot to the forefront with an opening line–always the hardest part for me–and three quite vocal characters in tow.  Holy crap!

Said characters are distracting me at work, not that I’ve been superbly busy today with my boss and lone co-worker–being husband and wife–out of town most of the day (ETA at the office is around 3:45 or 4:00 this afternoon).

In the absence of hardcore office work, I’ve been working on character sketches of said characters, which I finished, for now, about 15 minutes ago.  When I get home, I’m going to map out the plot points that I know right now.  After this germination/pre-writing phase, I’m going to get to work, hopefully pre-weekend.

Now, if I can just keep myself from getting scared or too critical this may actually work out with a finished novel as the result.  (I think I’m going to go with a novel and not a screenplay, as the novel is a more familiar form for me.  Of course, this is all subject to change.)  Though, taking the time to make all these notes and character sketches should pacify the more Type A part of my brain enough to get out of my way.  I haven’t tried this strategy before, but, so far, it seems to be working.

Also, I’ve had a couple ideas for artwork crack me on the head while I was working on the character sketches today.  Two of the characters studied art, and I’ve been doing more with photography and art lately anyway, so I guess that was to be expected.  Also browsing around UncommonGoods.com figures into the inspiration. To make the ideas happen, however, I need a couple more supplies which I’m of a mind to pick up on my way home.

Oh, my.  The creativity is just starting to burst out all over the place!  What’s more, I’m happy and excited about it!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Bursting With Creativity Today

  1. sounds exciting! I love it when that happens, but its so rare. My advice is for you to ride this wave as hard as you can, and hope you’ll have enough left over to continue when that burst fades.

  2. Ooooo!

    This is NEAT!!!

    Can’t wait to hear more 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

