Belated Wishcasting: Saying Yes!

wishwed Yesterday, when I looked at Jamie Ridler’s Wishcasting post, leading us in this week’s wishes, I wasn’t sure what to write.  All sorts of things were jockeying to be included, but I wanted this wish to be focused on one specific thing.  The more focused, it seems, my wishes are, the more likely I am to follow through with my part of making them come true.

So, last night, I slept on it, and, this morning am ready to cast my wish.

This week’s Wishcasting prompt:

What do you wish to say yes to?

On Monday, keeping with my activities for the Next Chapter, I decided on to take a calculated risk.  I decided to join and participate in NaNoWriMo this year, wherein a whole big group of people from all over the world converge via the internet to support each other in the effort of writing a gleefully, beautifully messy first draft of a novel between November 1st and November 30th each year.

I tried NaNoWriMo in 2006, but I couldn’t convince myself to get out of my own way.  I wouldn’t just let the story come through me.  I wanted to twist it and mold it and make it as perfect as possible.  I missed the whole point of the exercise, and I didn’t get past 5,000 words.

Having learned my lesson from that, and, now, having a better hold on the Inner Critic/Editor, I think I’m ready to give it another try.

Now, for the wish…

I wish to say yes to whichever story knocking around the back of my mind most wants me to bring it into the world over the course of next month, flaws and all.  I wish to say yes to writing on the novel every day.   I wish to say yes to getting out of my own way so the novel can come through. I wish to say yes to crossing “Write a novel” off my Bucket List.

What do you wish to say yes to?  Whatever it is, I hope you do tell it “Yes.”

Categories: Wishcasting Wednesdays | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Belated Wishcasting: Saying Yes!

  1. sandysays1

    Good things come to those who have the patience to wait.
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. I’m saying yes to NaNoWriMo too – first time for me! You can be my writing buddy if you like (WrightStuff). I’m excited, but wondering how on earth I’m going to fit it in…. We’ll see!

  3. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I too wish for her as well:)

  4. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I too wish for her as well.

    Isn’t it great how the Joy Diet and Wishcasting Wednesday themes really related this week? That Jamie is so clever. Saying Yes! to empower us to take risks is the key to realizing our dreams.

    Congratulations on taking up the NaNoWriMo challenge!

  5. Angela

    Rebekah, as you wish for yourself so I wish also. Write that book girl!

  6. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    mich
    x.

  7. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

    You can do it!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

