Thanksgiving Gratitude

Here it is…Thanksgiving again.

For me, this day is not so much about the original Thanksgiving as it is about taking time out to think about what I’m most grateful for in the past year.

What I’m grateful for this year, in no particular order:

  • I am alive.  
  • I am reasonably sane.  (Is anyone completely sane?  Haha.)
  • I have the necessities for life: food, clothing, shelter, clean water to drink.  I also have quite a few luxuries, like the laptop I’m typing this on.
  • I have found something I am good at and really passionate about that is, for me, a spiritual practice: nature photography.   When I am photographing Mother Nature, it’s like I’m just lost in it, in Her beauty and in the stillness.  I’m in a zone where nothing will distract me or dampen my mood.
  • Along with that passion, I am grateful for the natural beauty I’ve been lucky enough to photograph, for being able to just get out in it, and being lucky enough to do it at a time that showed it at its best.
  • I am glad I bought my new camera (Canon PowerShot A 1100 IS), and that I had the money to purchase it.
  • I am grateful for my friends, both “real life” friends and the friends I’ve made through blogging.
  • I am grateful for my family.
  • I am grateful our ancestors millennia ago figured out how to make music, as well as the talented musicians who keep it alive in all its forms today.  It is, without a single doubt, food for the soul. 
  • Books, books, and more books.  The publishing industry is still afloat!  Yay!  Books hide treasures, pearls of wisdom and other worlds between their covers!  They’re magical.
  • I am grateful for the talented artists of all stripes–painters, sculptors, mixed-media artists, writers, musicians, poets, photographers, actors, filmmakers, et al.–who let their lights shine in the world, as it gives me hope that I may someday be one of them.  Just the possibility is enough to be grateful for.
  • I am grateful that yoga came into being and that it survived, and, not only survived, but is alive and well today.  It has and does make such a difference in my life. 
  • I am grateful for the freedom to be the “captain of my soul,” as I remind myself that some people aren’t permitted to be the captains of their own souls, at least not openly.
  • I am grateful for the opportunities I’ve been given to grow as a person, even though they’re frequently uncomfortable and scary.  I’ll forever be better off for having learned and grown.
  • I am grateful for the NaNoWriMo experience, even though I know I’m not going to get to 50,000 words.  I have written more words of fiction this month than I have in a very, very long time.  It’s restored my hope that one day I will write a novel, and it might even be a good one.
  • The sky was gorgeous about a half hour before sunset today.  In fact, it is frequently gorgeous.
  • I am grateful for the one year and six days of blogging in a more public venue than I had previously, this blog, though posts have been scarce as of late.  (I hope to soon change that.)  It has definitely enriched my life, in some ways I’m sure I haven’t even quite realized yet.  Thank you to all who read, whether or not you comment.

If I gave myself enough time to think, this list could go on infinitely.  Ask me tomorrow, and I’d produce an entirely different list.  That is as it should be.

Sometimes, I momentarily forget the good things in my life.  Sometimes I forget them for days.  But, when I look for them, I find them.  I hope I can remember to look more often.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

