Long Nights Moon (Or Cold Moon) Dreamboard

Long Nights Moon Dreamboard

Long Nights Moon Dreamboard

Ah, December and its holidays are upon us!

Tonight is the full moon, which means it’s time for Full Moon Dreamboards again at Jamie Ridler Studios!

This full moon is known as the Cold Moon or Long Nights Moon.  It’s a time of completion at year’s end.

I also found this little piece on it, which characterizes Long Nights Moon this way (bolded portions I found particularly applicable to my life this month):

“As the days get shorter and Yule approaches with the longest night of the year, we force ourselves to get through the darkness because eventually we will see the sunlight and warmth again. Think about the things in your life that you’ve had to endure. Sometimes, a part of us must die in order to be reborn. Now is the perfect time for spiritual alchemy — time to evaluate your life, and know that you’ll survive the dark times.

“If you’ve already put the darkness behind you, take your good fortune and share it with others. When it’s cold outside, open your heart and home to friends and family. Reach out to people who might be suffering from the chill of winter, either spiritually or physically.”

As this year ends, my first post-university full-time job is set to end.  This is something I have been looking forward to as it would be a clean break and allow for me to move on, but, the past few days, as reality has sunk in and I’ve realized it’s almost here, I found myself caught in the chokehold of fear for my future.  Just last month, I thought it would go on until spring, and had made peace with that, only to have a curve ball thrown at me last week.  I have no concrete plans now, other than to ride the ship down this month, and go from there.  As you can imagine, there is a substantial part of my mind that doesn’t like not having contingency plans.   This identity I’ve had for three years, “legal secretary,” will soon die…It won’t be mine anymore, and I’ll have to decide who and what I am without that label dominating my psyche.

Yesterday was particularly rough, one of those fabled “dark nights of the soul” where every self-doubt and every insecurity came out to play and take over my thoughts, coupled with a wave of fear.  Today, though, I was able to shake it all off somewhat.  Oh, it is still lurking behind me, breathing down my neck, but I’m not listening to it, and it’s not choking me.  This is a powerful day, the first of two full moons this month, with the rebirth of the Light on the way, and, as the piece above said, time for spiritual alchemy, evaluating life, and knowing I’ll survive the dark times if or when they come.

For the first time, I went about making my dream board entirely intuitively.  I didn’t have any pre-planned theme, no pre-made wishes to incorporate in it.  I just sat down in the floor this evening with magazines and catalogs and cut out what appealed to me.

You know what I see?

I see peace, joy, transformation (“om namah shivaya”–in the upper right corner–is supposed to be a transformative mantra), and treats (cookies, cappuccino, and a pedicure!).  I see light in the darkness, and beauty in the sparseness of winter.  I see celebrating the Solstice, and a rising of literal and figurative Light.

Let it be.  Please, let it be.

Categories: Full Moon Dreamboards | Tags: , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Long Nights Moon (Or Cold Moon) Dreamboard

  1. This is simply wonderful. I really felt a kinship to this dreamboard. I especially appreciate that the women in the images, they seem very real!
    Thanks for sharing the moon/yule information. May all your dreams come true. Wishing you the peace and joy of the season.

  2. You were eloquent in expressing what you saw in your dreamboard. May all your dreams and desires come true.

  3. I relate to this feeling, in very recent days, and I have also felt a little stronger at “shaking it off” — thank you for sharing this.

    “Yesterday was particularly rough, one of those fabled “dark nights of the soul” where every self-doubt and every insecurity came out to play and take over my thoughts, coupled with a wave of fear. Today, though, I was able to shake it all off somewhat. Oh, it is still lurking behind me, breathing down my neck, but I’m not listening to it, and it’s not choking me. This is a powerful day, the first of two full moons this month, with the rebirth of the Light on the way, and, as the piece above said, time for spiritual alchemy, evaluating life, and knowing I’ll survive the dark times if or when they come.”

  4. Pingback: Full Cold Moon Dream Board « Lost & Found

  5. What a peaceful dreamboard. Centred and grounded. Warm. Taking delight in treats! May your dreams come true!

  6. It seems that the visionboards made intuitively hold the most power… and yours is brilliant in wisdom and hope. Congrats for taking a leap of faith…. and many blessings to you as your wintertime visions magically unfold!

  7. Oh, happy Full Moon to you, dear Rebekah!

    A beautiful dream board (and dreams) indeed!

    I already see you in your own life boat, sailing away from the sinking ship to peaceful and promising dream destinations of your own.

    I’ve been on sinking ships myself and yes, there is grief. It’s okay. Let it flow through you. Catch a glimpse of the darkness…

    …then turn your lovely face to the magical Light and trust the journey. All will be well.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

