A Light of Meaning In the Darkness of Mere Being

Earlier today, about to burst with anger, frustration, and general sensory overload, I ran across a quote at the end of my lunch break while surfing blogs…A quote that somehow flipped a switch and diffused it.  (Sadly, I don’t remember which blog.  It’s one to which I hadn’t been before.)

The fight went right out of me.  

It reminded me of a photo I took last night of the red candle I’d lit on my meditation altar…Red for strength and courage.  It reminded me that the light will increase after the solstice later this month, so, though it’s the darkest part of the year now, after the 21st that will change.  It reminded me of my humanity, which I share with the very people who were irritating me to death.  It reminded me to look for the light of meaning in the darkness of the black mood I was experiencing.

Here’s the picture, followed by the quote:

A candle flame, red for strength and courage.

“As far as we can discern, the sole purpose of human existence is to
kindle a light of meaning in the darkness of mere being.” — Carl Jung

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

