A Little Project I’ve Been Working On Since New Year’s Eve…

Since December 31st I’ve been working on a little project to ring in my new year, one which I hope will help this year go more smoothly than years past.

What is it?

Well, for now, I’m calling it my 2010 Guidebook.  I’ve gotten some really great tools for setting intentions from several beautiful blogging sources, and put them all together in one place, along with a little idea of my own. 

Here’s the cover of my 2010 Guidebook, proudly displaying my Word of the Year, “bloom,” a photo from Google Images of a blooming lotus, and the quote that inspired its choice…

The front cover of my 2010 Guidebook.
The front cover of my 2010 Guidebook.

The first thing I see when I open it is a printout of this:

A printout of my New Year's Eve/Blue Moon Dreamboard.
A printout of my New Year’s Eve/Blue Moon Dreamboard.

The next thing in the binder is the tool I used to crystallize the intentions behind my Word of the Year:

Christine Kane's "Your Word of the Year Discovery Tool"
Christine Kane’s “Your Word of the Year Discovery Tool”
Writing down my chosen guideword for 2010 and making it official...

Writing down my chosen guideword for 2010 and making it official...

I finished that on New Year’s Eve.

Right now, I am working through the next item in my 2010 Guidebook:

I'm working through Goddess Leonie's '2010: Creating My Goddess Year', too.

I'm working through Goddess Leonie's '2010: Creating My Goddess Year', too.

 

One of my favorite bits of the "Celebrating and Releasing 2009" section of '2010: Creating My Goddess Year.'

One of my favorite bits of the "Celebrating and Releasing 2009" section of '2010: Creating My Goddess Year.'

Gifts I want to give myself this year. (From '2010: Creating My Goddess Year'.)

Gifts I want to give myself this year. (From '2010: Creating My Goddess Year'.)

Things I would like to release this year...(From '2010: Creating My Goddess Year.')

Things I would like to release this year...(From '2010: Creating My Goddess Year.')

I am still working through 2010: Creating My Goddess Year, getting ever clearer on what I want out of this year spreading out before me and having fun with my wild imaginings!  (Not all of them are wild, of course.  Some are rudimentary.)  If I make resolutions or intentions, at least ones to release publicly, I’ll make them when I finish.

I plan to write a “Dear John” letter to Fear as Pen and the Magpie Girl have done before me and put that in there.

I’ve also placed a few empty, clear sleeves in the back so I can collect little bits of inspiration fitting with my theme, like the tags off of some of my teabags that have inspiring quotes on them, movie ticket stubs from movies that inspired me, pictures, and so forth. 

Another thing I’m working on is something a dear friend of mine and I talked about on New Year’s Eve.  (Go, read her, leave her a welcome-to-the-wider-blogosphere comment!)  I told her about my Word of the Year, and she told me she was doing an overall concept for 2010, with another concept for each month to focus on that will move her toward bringing her ultimate concept to fruition by year’s end.  I really do love this idea!  I intend to write out a concept or theme to focus on for each month of 2010 that will lead me toward reaching full bloom by year’s end.  I’ve already chosen January’s: Holistic Wellness — Mind, Body, & Spirit.  Once I figure them all out, I’m going to type them up in a fun font, print them out, and put that list in my Guidebook.

I’ve never done this before, but I got the idea as I was printing out  2010: Creating My Goddess Year and the Word of the Year Discovery Tool, and ran across Goddess Leonie’s videos on making a To-Do List Book and Scrap Journal.  (I can’t take full credit for coming up with this.  This combines the two concepts a bit, though I do plan on making a separate To-Do List Book.)  When I finish filling everything out, I’m going to keep it in plain sight up on my bookshelf so I don’t forget about it, and will look at it often.  I think having everything–all the hopes and wishes and intentions for the year–all together will help me get the most out of this year.  After, say, February, I almost never look back at my resolutions or intentions lists until the end of the year, either the electronic ones or the ones I’ve written in my paper journal.  They’re out of sight, out of mind, and scattered out, and, therefore, I suspect, mostly don’t get done. 

I so desperately want this year to be different.  I want to bloom into my full potential, to flourish.  Forgetting and being unclear this year just isn’t going to cut it!  Hence the guidebook.  I decided to share this with those who read or stumble across this blog in case anyone else was in my situation, but maybe didn’t have an idea what to do about it.

I’m so grateful to all the originators of the things in my guidebook for putting them out into the world. 

Have a bright and blessed 2010, everyone! 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Little Project I’ve Been Working On Since New Year’s Eve…

  1. I love the word Bloom … i know a yoga teacher who instructs the class to “bloom where you are” so I hope you will find yourself blooming over and over and over again in the coming year.

    I too am working on my Goddess planner and have been going through the worksheet for my word for the year. I think I have it and will post more soon 🙂 I love how we are all working away on this gifts to ourselves which really will be gifts to the Universe. What you have here is so powerful and empowering – certain to inspire many.

    Thank you for sharing!

  2. Wonderfully awesome and beautiful!

    I predict a great year ahead for you, dear Rebekah 🙂

    Your creativity is inspiring!

    Thanks for sharing your intentions in this forum. We are blessed by your presence and heartfelt way of living.

    {{hugs}}

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

