A Beautiful Reminder

Today was one of those days that starts out seemingly rough–in this case, with a headache from clenching my jaw overnight–and just seems to drag, especially the annoying parts.  By lunch, I was in a positively lovely mood.  (Yes, that was sarcasm.  I can be sarcastic.)

So, on lunch break, I surfed around YouTube and found a few clips from when my favorite band, Placebo, played at Angkor Wat to benefit MTV EXIT, which is a campaign to raise awareness about human trafficking in Europe and Asia.  I wish I had been there, being nearly moved to tears just watching the short video clips.  They played beautiful re-arrangements of some of their songs, arrangements that I hadn’t heard before, and for a truly wonderful cause.

And that pulled me out of my crabby mood…The beauty of the music, and the reason these particular arrangements were played and recorded.  My petty little problems are nothing compared to what some people in this world go through, are going through as I type this.  Today, looking for solace, I found a beautiful reminder, and a bit of perspective.

Here are the clips that moved me most:

UPDATE: A member of MTV EXIT left me a link to the full version of the program  as it aired.  You can view that here.  You’ll probably want to watch it in full screen so you can read the English captions, as a victim of human trafficking was  interviewed, and she didn’t speak English.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Beautiful Reminder

  1. alexheath

    Hi Rebekah,

    Glad you found the clips of our concert at Angkor Wat. Since you love Placebo, I thought you’d like to see the whole show we made with them!

    http://www.mtvexit.org/videoGet.php?lang=1&id=2271&vdo_cat=4 .

    Let us know what you think!

    Cheers,

    Alex
    MTV EXIT

  2. Rebekah

    Thank you, Alex.

    I watched the film and thought it was beautiful and heart-wrenching, deserving of attention, and have shared it and links to MTV EXIT on my Facebook page. I will update this post with the link to the full cut.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

