Tick-Tock: Thinking About Time Management

There are a lot of things I want to do this year, and a lot of things I want to learn.  In the past year, though, I’ve been feeling like there’s never enough time to do everything I want to do, and I’ve been cutting into my sleep time to do things.  (And still not getting everything done that I want to get done.)  Not good.

For the past two weeks, I’ve been watching more closely how I spend my time, and guess what?  The bulk of my free time goes to aimlessly surfing around the internet (usually aimless wandering around Amazon), or obsessively checking my Google reader, WordPress stats and comments, and Facebook.  It’s to the point of absurdity!  I’m ashamed to admit just how much time I spend doing those things.

Therefore, to free up some more time to do the things I want to do in real life, rather than virtual life, I’m going to employ some self-discipline and apply the following rules to my excessive internet usage:

  • Every evening the laptop will be shutting down no later than 8:00 p.m.
  • At least one evening during the work week (from the time I get home until I go to bed) and one whole day on the weekend, I will be Internet-free.  If I want to communicate with people, I will remember to use that thing called a telephone.
  • When I have free moments here and there at work, I will not spend all of them online, but, rather, will sometimes read one of the multitude of unread books I have, or will write by hand or type and save said writing to my flash drive.

I am bracing myself for discomfort as I break this ingrained habit.  Actually, the word “withdrawal” came to mind, and it could turn out to be a lot like that.  Ultimately, though, I think this will be very good for me if I can keep at it until the habit is broken.  Doesn’t it take something like 21 days to break a habit?  Or is it 28 days?

Either way, I’m going to go at it full force starting today.  (No time like the present, after all.)  This evening will be my one evening during the work week Internet-free, since, according to package tracking (I checked this morning), I will have an Amazon shipment–items bought with the Christmas money Mom and Dad gave me–waiting on me, and, therefore, will have three shiny new books, Love Actually, and Iron & Wine’s Around the Well to occupy my time, which will make the temptation to get online easier to bear.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Tick-Tock: Thinking About Time Management

  1. Excellent!

    Great insight, dear Rebekah!

    I applaud your intentions!

    This is a lesson we can all use, I suspect.

    One thing that helps me is to just change one thing in my routine…stop somewhere on the way home from work, challenge myself to 20-30 minutes of yoga or exercise before getting on the computer, hang out at the library or coffee shop to read or write lettes (less distractions), etc.

    Hooray for you!

    The New Moon is a perfect time to start an intention like this 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

