Wishcasting Wednesday: A Story to Live, and A Story to Let Go

It’s Wednesday, and that means it’s Wishcasting time over at Jamie Ridler Studios!

I haven’t participated in a while.  I’ve just not felt much like blogging, really, but today’s question jumped out at me, as it is one of those questions that I need to ask myself, particularly given the place I’m finding myself in lately.

That question is this:

What story do you wish to live or let go of?

I actually have one of each.  There is a story I have to let go of before I can live the story I wish to live.

The Story I Wish to Live:

I wish to live the story of a strong, independent woman who follows her heart and her intuition.  She has a deep knowing of what she wants and needs in life, and, instead of waiting for it to come to her or seeking others’ approval of what she wants and needs, she takes the steps to get it.  Sometimes, though, it blows up in her face, and it turns out she was led to that particular something to learn lessons, so she learns her lessons and moves on.  She trusts that all she needs will come to her.  She is courageous enough to move through her fears to see what lies on the other side.  She opens up her heart to others, even though that makes her vulnerable.  She is authentic, and doesn’t feel the need to pretend to be anyone other than who she is, and, as such, surrounds herself with those who see, know, and love her true self.

The Story I Need to Let Go Of:

I need to let go of the story of a woman who frets about the things her heart and intuition want, who seeks the approval of others before she goes after her goals.  This woman tries to please everyone else as well as her self.  (A statistical improbability, really, and so she’s almost always disappointed and stalled when one of her family members or friends disapproves of something she wants to do or has done.)  This woman is so afraid of failure and scarcity that she stays stuck, while yearning for the greener grass on the other side of her fear.  She waits and hopes that one day what she wants will come to her and rescue her so she won’t have to do the work and go through the scary parts of rescuing herself.  This woman puts up walls and defenses, trying to protect herself from others.  She is afraid of being who she is, because many of those closest to her would disapprove, and she craves their love and approval and acceptance, so she wears masks–a different one depending upon who she is with–to hide her true self and disguise herself as the person she thinks others want.  She is constantly comparing herself to others and finding herself lacking.

I wish to live the story of the first woman, the woman who is the hero of her own story and her authentic self, and I wish to let go of the story of the second woman, who is too afraid to become her own hero and too afraid to let herself be seen as she is.

Categories: Wishcasting Wednesdays | Tags: , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Wishcasting Wednesday: A Story to Live, and A Story to Let Go

  1. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  2. Rebekah,
    Wishcasting is powerful-so powerful you will be your own heroine. I admire you!
    As Rebekah wishes for herself, I also wish for Rebekah.

  3. You already are that 1st woman!

    It’s all a work in progress, dear Rebekah. Each step is a victory.

    You can let go and soar!

    [[hugs]]

  4. Here’s to being open and authentic and not giving a hoot what others think! As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!

  5. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  6. May your story become full of authenticity and openness. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  7. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

