If My Thoughts Will Come Together…

This morning finds me with a lot of things rolling around in my mind, things I am sure to eventually write about when I can get them strung together with some measure of coherency.  Expect lots of posts this week if they come together.

A few of the general topics my thoughts are swirling around:

  • That I may have thrown the baby out with the bathwater in regard to the religion I was born into.  I forgot that there’s a middle way between completely leaving it all behind and the very narrow-minded view instilled by my childhood church.  During the time leading up to Easter, I want to explore that middle way.
  • My inner Warrior Woman is rising, urging me to take control over my own life and own the power that comes with that, and the first thing she is prodding me to do is voice, set up, and defend boundaries, to roar past my usual outwardly-displayed timidity.  This should be interesting.  I’m not sure I’m ready for her full force just yet.
  • At the suggestion of a dear friend, I’m formulating a sort of “prayer/petition to the Universe” aimed at getting me past my stuck places a la Elizabeth Gilbert in Chapter 9 of Eat, Pray, Love.  I hadn’t ever thought about doing that, as many times as I’ve read that book, but it makes a lot of sense for where I am right now.
  • I’ve been continuing the cycle of falling off the health and wellness wagon, chasing it down, and getting back on.  I am trying to figure out how to stay on it.

Before I go, I wanted to share perhaps the perfect creativity prayer, courtesy of Rumi:

“In your light I learn how to love.
“In your beauty, how to make poems.

“You dance inside my chest,
“where no one sees you,

“but sometimes I do,
“and that sight becomes this art.”
~ Rumi, “Chinese Art and Greek Art,” The Essential Rumi trans. by Coleman Barks, p. 122

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

