Ten Things, More or Less, Plus Five Goals

Ten Things I Need Less Of

  1. Other people dropping their drama/problems in my lap, expecting me to fix it/them.
  2. External stress (i.e. stress created by my position at work, that related to #1).
  3. Internal stress (i.e. the stress I put on myself to meet everyone’s expectations and demands, including mine; negative self-talk).
  4. Time spent aimlessly wandering around the Internet.
  5. Noise.
  6. Books, especially the ones that I’ve tried to read several times only to give up on because they are so boring or preachy…
  7. And the guilt associated with doing so.
  8. Back issues of magazines.  (If I’ve read them, they need to go.  If I haven’t, I need to read them and let them go.)
  9. Processed sugar and other bad-for-me foods.
  10. Worry (esp. about things beyond my control).

Ten Things I Need More Of

  1. Sleep
  2. Meditation (which will help with 1-4, 7, and 10 above).
  3. Exercise (which also helps with everything).
  4. Time spent reading actual books, especially those read solely for fun.
  5. Vegetables.
  6. Outdoor time.
  7. Contact with friends via means other than the computer.
  8. Photo expeditions.
  9. Noticing the sacred in the mundane.
  10. Just being.

This entry was inspired by this post on Magpie Girl.

Plus Five Things I Want to Do This Week

  1. Improve my work-life balance.
  2. Sit my butt down on my meditation cushion and meditate for no less than five minutes at a stretch, at least once a day.  (Baby steps to get back into the habit, although, if I want to sit longer I will.)
  3. Exercise, starting this evening, for no less than 30 minutes each day through at least Friday.  (That’s 5 days, M-F.)
  4. Make time for reading books and magazines.
  5. Write more, whether that is here or in ye olde paper journal. (I typed “om” instead of “in” the first time.  Gee, wonder if that’s a sign?  Haha.)
Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Ten Things, More or Less, Plus Five Goals

  1. Hi Rebecca, love this less, more and want format. And your number 6 on the less of list? It was a revelation to me when someone (actually a published writer) advised giving yourself permission not to finish a book that doesn’t click. That gives so much freedom. I even did it recently in our reading group although it didn’t go down too well.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

