Beltane and Belated Full Moon Dreamboard

First things first…This past Wednesday was the full moon, but I didn’t have time midweek to make my dreamboard with the dreamboarding circle at Jamie Ridler Studios, so I put it off until today, which happens to be Beltane as well as Saturday.  Here it is (click on it for larger view):

Full Pink Moon (a.k.a. "Wind Moon" and "Seed Moon") / Beltane Dreamboard

Full Pink Moon (a.k.a. "Wind Moon" and "Seed Moon") / Beltane Dreamboard

I prefer to conceptualize this past full moon as the “Seed Moon”, and here’s why (emphasis mine):

“This is a good time to work on magic related to new beginnings. Looking to bring new love into your life, or conceive or adopt a child? This is the time to do those workings. It’s the time to stop planning, and start doing. Take all those ideas you’ve had brewing for the past couple of months, and make them come to fruition.”  — Patti Wigington, “Wind Moon,” About.com’s Paganism/Wicca Guide

I intuitively pulled images, and some recurrent themes showed up:  oceans and lakes, sensuality, couples showing affection in various ways (hence highlighting the bit about “new love,” above), and encouraging quotes and phrases applicable to various facets of my life as it is.

One reason I thought this evening would be good for doing the dreamboard, since I missed the full moon, is that, it being Beltane, the “veil” between the spirit world and this one is said to be thinner than any other time except for Samhain.  I chose the intuitive approach toward making the dreamboard, instead of planning, because of the fabled “thinned veil,” opening myself to guidance from Spirit and my higher Self.  Also, Beltane is about fertility, planting seeds and growing things, so planting seeds of dreams and growing dreams sounded good to me.  So much so that this is the centerpiece of my Beltane observance.  (It’s raining buckets here today, so no bonfires for this girl.)  I did decorate my altar with flowers, and I burned a lavender candle (corresponding with the crown chakra and spiritual connection) as I worked.

I think I’m going to have to sit with this dreamboard a while to fully grasp it.  The pictures of couples that I pulled, over and over, and the two that made it into the board itself, make me wonder.  Are they representative of the God and Goddess of the Beltane myths?  Are they representative of spiritual union?  Or are they to be taken at face value, meaning I am ready to attract and welcome a man, a partner, into my life?  All three?

The recurrent ocean and lake themes make me wonder, too.    Water in general is linked to deep-seated emotion.  The ocean is linked to the Divine Feminine, and is often said to have given rise to all life.  Lakes, in various mythologies, also tend to have goddesses associated with them.  Could all the water be a subconscious nod to the Divine Feminine?  Does that mean I should concentrate more connecting with Her?  See?  Like I said, I’m going to have to sit with it a while.

Perhaps when I sleep tonight, dreams will help make it more clear…If I can incubate a dream properly tonight, that is.

That said, I wish you all a bright and blessed Beltane!

Categories: Full Moon Dreamboards, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

