Wishcasting: Rules

This week for Wishcasting Wednesday, in her characteristically timely way, Jamie Ridler asks:

What rules do you wish to make or break?

First off, I would like to break the rule that says, “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”  Sometimes, you have to say things that aren’t nice.  For instance, if you don’t ever tell someone where and when to step off, and doing so is called for, they will continue stepping all over you.  I’m in a situation like that right now and I’ve almost met my limit.  I do not condone abject rudeness.  I hate conflict.  I hate confrontation, but I can’t continue letting myself be a doormat, either.  I need to find my voice, the “not nice” one.

An associated rule I want to break is the rule–as in reign–of the Good Girl.  You know that inner ruler, right?  The one who tells you to play nice, to do as much as you can to be everything everyone else wants you to be, the one that wants you to live so no one anywhere can say a bad thing about you?  The role some of us–me, too–espouse so no one categorizes us as A Bitch?  Yeah.  That one!  I want to break her rule! I want her overthrown!

Rules I wish to make:

  • No one will be permitted to continually make me their doormat.
  • I will make and enforce healthy boundaries, regardless of approval of others.

Breaking and making these rules is not going to be easy.  Getting rid of my people-pleasing urges, dethroning the Good Girl, is much more difficult than I’d imagined.  (I’ve been trying to do so for some time.)  But maybe now, with my wishes being bolstered, it will get easier.  I’m also open to advice if anyone has any.

Today finds me so, so grateful for this wishing circle.  May all your wishes come true!

Categories: Wishcasting Wednesdays | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Wishcasting: Rules

  1. Kelly

    Having boundaries is not being a BITCH – though I know it can feel that way. Had the same issue & I feel like a BITCH when I see this person still – didn’t handle it correctly. OH! well. I wish I had advise, but I don’t – so I will wish with all my heart That what Rebekah wishes for herself, I wish for her also!

  2. oh Y~E~S
    some things, nice or not, need to be said.
    as rebekah wishes for herself, i wish for her also!

  3. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well! Bye-bye, good girl doormats!

  4. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  5. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

