Forecast: Storm Clouds Building. Blue Sky On the Other Side.

Storm clouds building.

Storm clouds building. Taken 5/29/2010. Canon PowerShot A 1100 IS, landscape mode, zoomed.

Storm clouds are building as I begin dismantling old beliefs, old ways of being, and old ways of doing things to make room for the new, aiming to keep only those that serve me.

Storms are to be expected any time one makes changes that are going to interrupt the past give-and-take patterns others have come to expect, or any time one refuses to bow to others’ sovereignty over one’s own life.  Moving forward in my dismantling process, I am going to be changing the give-and-take patterns others in my life have come to expect, and, as the process goes on, I will allow others less and less sovereignty over my life.

As I take the first tentative steps, I hope and believe I will weather the storm.  Storms, after all, don’t last forever.  They eventually give way to clear skies again.  If anything, I think the coming storm will only help me take the old structure apart.  The trick is riding it out with my core intact.  That will be my biggest challenge.

I don’t know how hard the wind, hail, and downpours will hit, or whether there will be tornadoes.  I’ve given so much of myself, of my life, over to others’ wants and wills, it has the potential to get quite nasty.  If it does, I’m going to do my best to focus on the clear, blue sky on the other side.

Categories: Photos, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Forecast: Storm Clouds Building. Blue Sky On the Other Side.

  1. [what is it that you are changing if you don’t mind me asking?]

  2. Rebekah

    Basically, in an immediate sense, I’m changing interpersonal boundaries, removing the word “Doormat” from my forehead where it has been much of my life.

  3. Beautiful, brave post, dear Rebekah!

    You are such an inspiration!

    I look forward to watching your progress (and I’ve got rain boots, umbrellas, and a safe haven if you need them).

    (Awesome photo, too!)

    Love your wording of not allowing others sovereignty any longer. Love it.

    {{{HUGS}}}

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

