The Start of Something Good: Bindu Wiles’s 21.5.800

Bindu Wiles's 21.5.800 challengeOver the weekend, I was reading Lis’s blog, and saw that she had started participating in a new, writing-  and yoga-driven summer project and community, Bindu Wiles’s 21.5.800.

Since I’ve been wanting to make sure I practice yoga regularly (and, so far, not doing as well in that goal as I would like), and since I’ve also wanted to get back to writing regularly as well, this seemed like a really good thing.  I found out about it late, so I mulled it over for a couple of days.  This morning I decided to dive in!  In fact, she encourages those who are at all resistant to dive in and see what happens.

I’ve committed to writing 800 words of anything–blog posts, paper journal entries, fiction, nonfiction, etc.–every day for 21 days, and practicing yoga, even if just a 20 minute savasana, five days out of every week during the project.  I’m beginning today, and, serendipitously, my last day will be July 4th, which is, here in the U.S. where I live, Independence Day!  Hah!

If I get stuck on the writing, there are occasional prompts, and a special beginner’s yoga video is also available.

Given the way things have been going recently, this is pretty much perfect timing for me.  By the end, it is entirely possible that I will be independent of writer’s block, a few pounds, and a great deal of stress.

Sound good?  Why don’t you join in?

Update circa 6:00 p.m.

593 words of writing down, yoga practice and 207 words left to go! 🙂

Update circa 8:00 p.m.

Yoga has been done.  (The P.M. portion of Element A.M. /P.M. Yoga for Beginners with Elena Brower.)  I’ve topped the 800 word goal between this post, morning pages, and writing in my paper journal.  Sweet!

Categories: 21.5.800 | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Start of Something Good: Bindu Wiles’s 21.5.800

  1. Way to go! I have to admit, I am not counting my words … i mean, how much is 800? Yikes! But i figure between blogging and commenting on other sites I’m making my quota. I definitely needed the commitment for a more regular yoga practice (insert sheepish look … yes, i teach one class a week!) because i know just getting up and moving sets a positive tone for my day. So far, so good.

    I am glad for your company on this challenge! Ah, maybe a little legs up the wall now while i scribble a few more lines in my journal?

    Have a lovely night!

    ♥ Lis

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

