Wishcasting Wednesday: Nourishment

This week for Wishcasting, our inspiring leader Jamie Ridler asks:

What do you wish to nourish?

First, I wish to nourish my body.   For 24 of the last 48 hours I suffered from a stomach ache, which has now (thankfully) eased, and I’ve been feeling really run down in general lately.  I’ve not been mindful of the foods I’ve been putting into my mouth.  I’ve been holding a lot of stress and tension in my body, accumulating it over the work-day 5 days every week and, when the weekend arrives, feeling boneless and exhausted.  Sleep is sometimes still a problem, though I’m better than I was last month about getting in bed and getting to sleep.  I’ve already begun addressing these things, committing to 5 days of yoga every week and have found a pre-bed ritual that usually works, but in keeping those healthy habits up and tackling the mindless eating, I could use some Wishcasting mojo.

I also wish to nourish my creativity.  I have a few ideas rolling around for various creative endeavors, but nothing is quite ripe yet.  I’ve begun nourishing my writing this week as well, committing to 800 words of writing (any writing) every day for 21 days to see if that shakes anything loose or causes anything of the garden of ideas I’m growing ripen.  (This goes hand in hand with the 5 days of yoga, which, together, is the crux of Bindu Wiles’s 21.5.800 project.  I joined on Monday this week after finding it on a fellow Wishcaster’s blog.  I joined late, but I’m committed.)  More than any other part of my creativity, I would like to nourish my inner fiction writer.  She’s been dormant since my last attempt, this past November, to write a novel.  Writing that novel, I froze up.  I didn’t just let the story flow.  That’s the biggest problem with me writing fiction, I over-think it.  I try to edit it while I write it.  I wish to nourish my creativity more by showing up, no matter what the medium, and letting the piece flow through me, by trusting it to come out as it should, by holding it in a spirit of playfulness.  I wish to nourish my creativity by taking proper care of my body, by resting, and by seeking spiritual sustenance, because I find it difficult to focus on creative endeavors when I don’t feel my best, when I feel tired or sick or spiritually disconnected.

Another thing I wish to nourish is my spiritual side.  My biggest impediment in this endeavor is taking the time.  I’ve been letting it slide in favor of other things, a lot of them not really fulfilling on any level, like wasting time watching re-runs of shows I’ve seen fifty times or more as soon as I get in from work, just totally vegging out and losing track of an hour or two, not even remembering the plotlines of what I’ve just watched (most of the time).  It would benefit me much more to get out in nature, meditate for part of that time, pray for part of that time, make a gratitude list, and/or read something spiritually nourishing.  I’m finding it hard to break the old, mindless TV habit in favor of the new, desirable habits.  Again, I thought it appropriate to give this a little Wishcasting mojo.

Finally, and most importantly to the way my life seems to be unfolding at present, I wish to nourish my senses of selfhood, courage, and adventure, all functions of the power chakra.  I’m on the road to recovering a sense of my independent self, to standing in my own power, but I’m not quite there yet.  I’ve spent a lot of time caring far too much what other people, especially members of my family, think.  To be fully rooted in selfhood, to move into the life I dream of, the life I want for myself, the life I would embark upon if I knew I would not fail, I will need courage and a sense of adventure.

All the things I wish to nourish come together to form a solid foundation for, as Oprah would say, “living [my] best life.”

What do you wish to nourish, dear reader?   Join us in the Wishcasting circle, and be a maker of magic and tender of wishes!

Categories: Wishcasting Wednesdays | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Wishcasting Wednesday: Nourishment

  1. As Rebekah wishes for herself, I wish for her as well. As someone who loves to write and loves yoga, I think you have chosen a wonderful challenge to help you move in the direction that you want to be going.

  2. Beautiful Wishes. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well!
    I facilitate a free project called The Receiving Project…which is all about, well, opening up to receiving the goodness all around us. It might be a fit for you!.
    You can check it out here:
    http://site.joannarothman.com/receivingproject.html

  3. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. It sounds like you have a good idea of where you want to be, its the getting there you need to figure out!

  4. As Rebekah wishes for herself I so lovingly wish this for her also. xxx

  5. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

