Note from My Self

Stand on the brink and breathe.
The only voice that can be heard
above the wind is yours.
Others call out their demands,
but all that matters are those of your soul.
Close your eyes, turn inward.
What do you see?
Hold that vision, with faith, as you leap.

Categories: Poetry | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Note from My Self

  1. Love this!

    Have been thinking of you a lot lately!

    Sending you courage 🙂

    Can’t recall if I’m mentioned this song to you or not. It strikes me as a good theme song for you!

    Susan Tedeschi ~”Gonna Move”

    When I was a little girl I felt so alone
    Quiet country house that I had to call home
    Living with a couple of foulks, rich millionaires
    Sat on their money Lord it seemed they didn’t care

    Finally we moved to our own place
    Where I could walk around with a smile on my face
    And I knew in order to make a stand
    I had to pull up my roots and move on in this land

    I’m gonna move away from here
    You can find me if you want to go there
    I’m gonna move away from here
    You can find me if you want to go there

    Came to a school in the big city
    Looked around at the lights and I thought they were pretty
    They told me and teached me to live by their rules
    So I wouldn’t be nobody’s fool

    I found out, not too long
    Their rules wouldn’t let me sing my song
    I know in order to make a stand
    I had to pull up my roots and move on in this land

    I’m gonna move…

    I’m gonna move…

    Then I joined the college ranks
    There they said they’d teach me how to think
    Gave me books to read and papers to write
    They didn’t know that this girl’s come to fight

    But I found out after a while
    Reading those books was making me lose my smile
    And I knew in order to not conceal
    I had to play music and express what I feel

    I’m gonna move…

    I’m gonna move…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

