Wishcasting Wednesday: Focus

This week’s Wishcasting Wednesday, led by the ever-inspiring Jamie Ridler, met me perfectly where my mind and heart are today.  Jamie asked:

What do you wish to focus on?

I wish to focus on maintaining a healthy diet and exercise regimen, including a regular yoga asana practice.  A family member’s recent, serious health crisis has me very focused on diet and exercise, because, to a large extent, the lack of a healthy diet and exercise led directly to that health crisis.  I’m becoming ever more aware of how often I fall prey to eating for comfort and stress relief, and how sedentary I often am.   21.5.800 has helped immensely with the yoga practice, but I’ve let walking and other forms of exercise that I benefit from slide, like walking and dancing.  Also I’ve noticed in recent weeks I’m gaining weight around my middle, which is never a good sign, likely due to stress in various areas of my life in the coinciding weeks.

I also wish to focus on the spiritual side of life, spending time nurturing my spirit and connecting to That Which Is Bigger Than Me.  I’ve let this area slide, or else half-assed it, for so long now, and it shows.  I need a daily spiritual practice that includes spiritual reading, meditation, and journaling at bare minimum.  Once a week, at least, I need to spend a goodly chunk of time outdoors.   I don’t do well when I feel spiritually disconnected.  I start to feel alone, and forget that I am always loved and never truly, completely alone.   The difference between not doing it and doing it is basically taking the time, regardless of what else is going on, so I wish to focus on taking that time.

Finally, I wish to focus on loving and accepting myself, on meeting myself where I am.  I was gifted with a migraine for my birthday earlier this week, and I took my medicine at the first flicker of aura, so it was not a very painful or long-lived one, but I did have some time to lie in bed with my eyes closed, breathe, and float in a medicated semi-stupor.  It was then I realized that being angry at myself, ripping myself to shreds because I didn’t accomplish what I wanted to in my 25th year was not doing me any good.  The negative self-talk, calling myself a coward and so forth, is obviously not a good motivator; nor is dwelling on time I won’t get back, time that I can’t live over again.  So, my medicated/meditated mind suggested I try loving and accepting myself and meeting myself where I am, warts and all, as an alternative.  One good thing that’s come of that: I haven’t spent hours this week fending off an anxiety attack, unlike the past few weeks.  I’ve mostly felt an inner bubble of peace.   Fear stands in my way, between me and so many things, but instead of cursing myself for being afraid, I’m trying to figure out what’s at the root of that fear and address it.  Much more productive!  I’ll have more of that, please!

What do you wish to focus on, dear reader?  Join us in the wishcasting circle and make magic and tend wishes!

Categories: Wishcasting Wednesdays | Tags: , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Wishcasting Wednesday: Focus

  1. Fabulous! As you wish for yourself, I wish for you as well!

  2. As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also. Many blessings to you and your family.

  3. kelly

    How fortunate that it only took you till you were 25 to realize how counter productive it is to be so hard on yourself. It is only recently, at the close of my 43rd year, that I’ve relented a bit to being so hard on myself. So Rebekah, as you wish for yourself, I wish with all myheart for you!

  4. Lovely. fellow 21*5*800 woman and wishcaster. Deep breaths of love to you today…

    As Rebekah wishes for herself, so I wish for her also…

    Click here to see what I wish to focus upon!

  5. As Rebekah wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

