It’s All About Self-Expression and the Journey

Developing storm cloud. 8/4/2010. Canon PowerShot A 1100 IS.

Developing storm cloud. 8/4/2010. Canon PowerShot A 1100 IS.

A while back, I committed what many would regard as a blogging sin: I changed my blog title and tagline.

Well, I’m at it again, sinning against Blogdom, though to a lesser degree.

Earlier this week, I wrote about how some things are starting to come into focus for me.  One of those things is my blog tagline.  Previously, it was “One young woman’s ever-evolving life.”   Yeah, generic, but I didn’t want it to limit me in what I would post here at the time.  Today, though, I realized that there really are only three root topics that my posts revolve around: spirituality, creative pursuits, 0r life in general, and, at times, I write about the ways these three intersect.

And so my new tagline was born: “Opening to Life, Spirituality, and Creative Pursuits”.  Much better!  My blog has focus!

It was definitely one of those “Hello, Captain Obvious!” moments.

When I started this blog, it was a spur-of-the-moment  creative urge.  I had vague ideas about where I wanted it to go, but, for once in this recovering perfectionist’s life, I was willing to just let things develop.  Sometimes that is the way it has to be.  Sometimes development requires change.  Sometimes the changes are small changes, like the way a cloud begins forming, with water vapor becoming small ice crystals, and builds and unfolds, and other times the changes are instantaneous and vast, like an explosion.  Keeping this blog has given me the gift of permitting myself to stand back and let things develop at their own pace, to let things flow instead of trying to control everything and make it perfect by others’ standards.  That has been and continues to be a great gift for me.

For the foreseeable future, I intend to continue to let this blog develop and unfold at its own pace, like that cloud up there.  If the current focus topics remain, good.  If they shift, that’s fine, too.  For me, doing this is all about self-expression and the journey.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

