A Few Things I Like + Thoughts On Spiritual/Creative Materialism

Today, I feel like a second post.  I thought I’d share a few of the things that I am really liking or enjoying right now.  I suppose one could say it’s “Things I Like Thursday.”  (But maybe that’s a little lame.  Anyway…)

  • I have and love Goddess Leonie‘s meditation kits.  They are sweet, soothing soul balm.  If you are interested in her work, and you have more time and attention to give than I’m going to have for the foreseeable future, she’s offering quite a generous deal wherein you have access to all her work for a year.
  • If, like me, you find yourself cast as a spiritual seeker, let me recommend Rachelle Mee-Chapman‘s Flock, which is a holistic, interfaith soul care community.  As of this posting there are 6 openings for this month.  (The number of open spots each month are limited so we can all get to know each other better.) I’ve been a member since February, and it has been a blessing for me.
  • I adore music, and right now I am utterly enamored with Mumford & Sons‘ album Sigh No More, which is available as a very affordable MP3 download at Amazon, which is how I acquired it.  (Don’t get me started on the full list of music at my disposal, with more added to my wish list all the time.  Geez.  We’ll be here at least a week. ;))
  • I still love my camera.  Point and shoot it may be, but it offers plenty of options and takes 12.1 megapixel images.  Someday, when I have a sizeable spare chunk of change I’ll buy an SLR, but that day isn’t here yet.
  • This week it’s extremely hot and humid here, so I haven’t been feeling like eating much in the way of cooked food.   (More heat?  No thanks.) For lunch I’ve been enjoying sandwiches made of wheat bread, hummus, mixed baby greens, and swiss cheese with baby carrots and locally grown grape tomatoes on the side.  Oh, and fresh blueberries, strawberries, and cantaloupe for dessert!  Yum!
  • I’ve also been enjoying iced green tea in the morning instead of coffee, and enjoying it again at lunch. 🙂
  • Finally, for the list, there’s a slightly guilty pleasure…I’ve been indulging in light, “summer reading” in the form of Madelyn Alt‘s Bewitching Mysteries.  They have romance, mystery, paranormal activity, and magic.  They are scrumptious, but you may take some heat from the serious bibliophiles in your life if they catch you with them.  😉

It may seem odd to some that I’m sharing these things in light of my post earlier today in which I said I was saying no to spiritual and creative materialism.  Let me clarify that, before I forget about it.

Lately, I’ve caught myself thinking, “If I read that book or do that e-course or buy this series of guided meditations I will be a better person/be more spiritual/be more creative.  I need it!”

That’s not the attitude I want to have.   It’s really rather destructive, financially as well as psychologically.  It’s like saying, “I need thus-and-such to be a better person/more spiritual/more creative.”

But I don’t need those things to be a better person, to be spiritual, or to be creative.  I already have everything I need, right here and right now.

For example:  I’ve got creativity already, I just have to tap into it.  I also already have ample supplies for whatever form that it wants to take.  It’s just a matter of clearing out the time and space to do so.

I’m already a better person that I was, because more time has passed and I’ve learned more along the way.  This is a continual process that happens of its own accord, unless we shove our heads in the sand like ostriches and ignore the lessons.

I’m already spiritual.  I am already armed with a willing, seeking soul and a list of practices that connect me to That Which Is Bigger Than Me.  Anything more is just enhancement, and I’ve already got plenty of that as well.

Plus, as I mentioned in that post earlier today, I have a clutter problem.  I really need to clear some space in my living space, and acquiring more stuff (other than legitimate needs, like food, water, shelter, and clothing) is not going to help with that.  (Note to Self:  Get started on that decluttering ASAP.)

Happy Thursday, all!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

