‘The Happy Book’: Photo Scavenger Hunt + This Week’s Happy-Makers

This is the second week in The Happy Book Shake-Up with The Next Chapter, a book club led by Jamie Ridler of Jamie Ridler Studios. The Happy Book is a guided journal, focusing on fun, silly things and everyday things that make people happy.

This week, our page assignment was a photo scavenger hunt.  Jamie chose a list of words to inspire our photos: circle, tree, smile, sparkle, heart, clean, treasure, red, fresh, sky, yum, toes, morning, and home.

During the week, my camera stopped functioning, so I didn’t get to finish, but it was fun.  Here are the photos I managed to capture before camera trouble hit:

Circle and sky. (Neighborhood basketball goal.)

Circle and sky. (Neighborhood basketball goal.)

Red, circle, and yum. (Lindt Lindor truffles.)

Red, circle, and yum. (Lindt Lindor truffles.)

Home + heart + circle. (A decorative piece by our door.)

Home + heart + red + circle. (A decorative piece by our door.)

Tree trunk. I thought the pattern of the bark was interesting, likely the result of frequent traffic by squirrels and other animals.

Tree trunk. I thought the pattern of the bark was interesting, likely the result of frequent traffic by squirrels and other animals.

Red. (The print of my new, very comfy organic cotton pajama bottoms.)

Red. (The print of my new, very comfy organic cotton pajama bottoms.)

Sparkle. (Sun sparkling off the creek current near my house.)

Sparkle. (Sun sparkling off the creek current near my house.)

Sky + some trees. (Taken standing on the railroad tracks in my neighborhood.)

Sky + some trees. (Taken standing on the railroad tracks in my neighborhood.)

Smile. (The antenna topper on my car.)

Smile. (The antenna topper on my car.)

Other happy-makers this week:

  • Due to having had Monday off for Labor day, it was a short work-week, so Friday seemed to arrive faster. 🙂
  • I truly enjoyed a photo essay I found via Twitter, “18 Places to Feel Dwarfed by Nature.”  These photos are breathtaking!
  • Sleep.  I’ve had several good nights of sleep this week.

What made you happy in the past week?  Care to share?

Categories: Photos, The Next Chapter | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “‘The Happy Book’: Photo Scavenger Hunt + This Week’s Happy-Makers

  1. Wonderful pictures and smile makers. It must be great to live so close to a creek. I love water and anytime I see or hear it I feel happy. Have a wonderful week.

  2. What great photos! Loved the way some covered several items!

  3. Hooray for the power of a scavenger hunt to change our eyes as we look at the world. Nice photos you’ve got here! Have a great week.

  4. Hey great shots. That tree is something else – looks like it’s about to head off into combat with the army! I’d love to dip a toe in that creek – looks so refreshing.

  5. So many happy things!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

