Harvest Moon (a.k.a. Falling Leaf Moon) Dreamboard

 

Harvest Moon / Falling Leaf Moon Dreamboard, October 2010.
Harvest Moon / Falling Leaf Moon Dreamboard, October 2010. (Click to enlarge.)

We’re under the full moon again, so, as usual, it’s time for this month’s Full Moon dreamboard, hosted by Jamie Ridler Studios, or, for my fellow members of Rachelle Mee-Chapman‘s Flock, it’s this month’s soulcraft.

This full moon is known by many names, but Harvest Moon and Falling Leaf Moon are my favorites.  Harvest time, the time of year when the leaves are falling en masse, is my favorite time of year.  It evokes restfulness and cozy sweaters, mulled cider, and hot chocolate.  There’s a nip in the air, but the sun is still warm.  Love, love, love it.

That said, I’ve hit a rough patch, emotionally, the past two weeks or so.  I’ve finally allowed myself to truly dream, to let myself want what I want in the process of taking and finishing Mondo Beyondo and beginning Power Stories, but, naturally, that stirs the pot, since what I truly want is so far from what I currently have in a lot of respects.  A lot of old hurts, a lot of old tapes, have come up, things I thought I was done with, but, really, I’d just shoved them in a mental closet until the door couldn’t shut on them anymore.  I wish I could say I’ve been dealing with it gracefully and compassionately, but, for the most part, I haven’t been.

So, sitting down to make my dreamboard this month was a welcome respite from the internal cacophony.

Going in, I had a few words I wanted, a couple of concepts, but I was clueless as to images, so I got out a few magazines, the ones in which I have come to find most of my dreamboard images, and cut out whatever caught my attention, then started working them in together.

Some parts are obvious to me, like the little self-care luxuries of a nice, hot cup of tea, and the bath salts and oils, the flower on the dresser, the woman receiving a massage.  (No places locally to get a massage, but, darn it, I’m going to check and see if there’s anywhere within a 2 hour drive, because I could definitely use one!)    The image of the woman in a yoga pose, with “healing” pasted on is obvious to me, too, given that there is a lot, emotionally speaking, that needs healing.  I love the elderly ladies giggling in the vineyard.  They look like the best of friends, and I don’t live near my closest friends anymore, and have grown apart from a lot of my friends, so I’ve been lonely for person-to-person contact.  The sleeping Buddha is obvious to me, as is the little turquoise Buddha bust, stack of river rocks, and lotus in the small picture between the teacup and word art.  The word art is obvious.  The bowls, and the inscription, “Wabi Sabi Your Life” are obvious to me.  Most of the images are.  But…

There are a few less-obvious images.  Who is the woman in the flowing black dress?  Given that I’m gearing up for NaNoWriMo, I would like to think she’s my muse.  And the woman in the lower right corner?  She seems to be looking into the light.  Heaven knows I could use a turnaround, looking more into the light than the dark.  Why the apples?  The model hand decorated with jewelry? The pink woman, the eyes out of which emerge a scene and another woman?  I have no clue, consciously, right now.  Maybe they’re there to impart a little mystery, or to bring in imagination.  That would be good, no?

So, it looks like I’m headed for a good month.  *crosses fingers*

What about you, dear reader?  What have you been dreaming of under this full moon?  Whatever your dreams, I wish you a pleasant month ahead.

Categories: Full Moon Dreamboards | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Harvest Moon (a.k.a. Falling Leaf Moon) Dreamboard

  1. I think that this dreamboard shows that taking the time to bring healing into our lives IS a luxury we all should strive for.

    Lovely

    Best wishes
    Charlotte

  2. What a beautiful board. There is definitely a feeling of mystery. I sense that in the midst of all this exploration and healing, new parts of your self are emerging. Take lovely care of you during this tender transformative time. Listen to your intuition. Journal often. Soon enough you will discover the gifts you have to share.

    May all of your dreams come true.

  3. PS Thank you for sharing the “falling leaf moon.” I had never heard that and its beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

