Sacred Life Sunday: Rested and Nested

Where I spent most of my Sunday...My bed/sanctuary.

This is where I spent most of my Sunday, in my bed/sanctuary.

Ah, Sacred Life Sundays…This year they’ve been sporadic, but as the year winds down, I find myself craving them.  Of course, a lot of times this year, I wasn’t allowing myself a true, uninterrupted sacred Sunday.  I’d leave errands to be run, or chores to be done.  I’d go waste time.

Today, though, I made my bed, so it would look nice, rested and nested.  I haven’t been out of pajamas all day, just changed into a fresh pair after my shower this evening.  (And yes, the photo above my bed is this one.)

I checked my email to get the Picture the Holidays photo prompt, then briefly ventured outside to snap the picture.  (Today was a nature assignment, and I photographed the dusting of powdered sugar snow on the front step and quickly darted back inside.)

I finished reading and sinking into a book a dear friend gave me after she heard the author speak at a yoga retreat, An Offering of Leaves by Ruth Lauer Manenti.

I began drinking in Karen Walrond‘s beautiful book, The Beauty of Different: Observations of a Confident Misfit.  Ah, it is gorgeous, thought-provoking, and soul-nourishing.  Just what I needed today.  I’m trying not to read it all today.  I’d like to savor it rather than get through it in a breathless sprint, even though that is so tempting.

I took a nap.

I’ve sipped herbal tea throughout the day, lit scented candles.

I spent some time writing in my paper journal, trying to make sense of this month’s hormone-fueled emotional rollercoaster.

I listened to some kirtan, David Newman’s album, Love, Peace, Chant.

I hit the yoga mat for a short unwinding asana practice, having promised myself I’d be on my yoga mat everyday this month, even if only for a short time.

I rested.  I didn’t worry about tomorrow, or rehash this week.  That felt sacred to me.

Now I am going to abandon the laptop for a cup of peppermint tea, some more time with my journal, meditation, then bed…A fitting end to a sacred, restful Sunday.

Categories: Sacred Life Sunday | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

