I Need To Be Reminded

Trail. Taken 10/2/2010. Canon PowerShot A 1100 IS.

Trail. Taken 10/2/2010. Canon PowerShot A 1100 IS.

I need to be reminded regularly
that life is a journey,
through which breath and breeze
may blow, joy may flow —
even in the smallest, simplest of rivulets…
That life need not be a labored slog,
head down, eyes on the ground,
across sodden, squelching earth…
That there is not one flag
to be captured, but many flags
strewn across many fields and hills…
That Point B is not the end,
but a new beginning for a new trip
to Point C, which begins a trip to D and onward…
That all of these may meander,
require detours or stop-offs for rest,
and no one but me can navigate my journey best.

Note: When I wrote this Sunday, I originally titled it “Life As Journey”, but it didn’t quite sit right with me.  It was a working title, but I’ve settled on something else that seems simpler and more suitable, “I Need To Be Reminded.” (3/15/2011)

Categories: Photos, Poetry | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

