A Sign That It’s All Going to Be Alright

Feather on the beach at the lake. Taken 8/27/2011.

Feather on the beach at the lake. Taken 8/27/2011.

The day I took that photograph, I had been unemployed for two months.

I had been going around and around in the same fearful, anxiety-fueled circles for weeks, getting myself ever further into a mire, and decided the best way to get some relief was to take a trip to the lake.  Nature, and particularly this lake, is sacred space to me.  I took my journal, my camera, and a couple books and decided to see what Nature would say.

I kicked my shoes off and took a walk along the beach, wading barefoot in the water’s edge.  Up ahead I could see a small flock of ducks gathered by some driftwood.  I raised my camera and took their picture.

At the same time, I felt something brush across the top of my foot.  It was this feather.  I watched the lake lap at it a couple of times, then took the picture.

In that moment I got the answer I went for.  To me, this small gift said, “Don’t lose hope.  Keep faith.  It’s all going to be alright.”

Not even a week later, I was employed.  My new position is far from perfect, but I have been blessed to form fast friendships with my coworkers and feel like I’m gaining some momentum and direction again.  I feel like, one way or another, it’s all going to be alright.

Categories: Photographs, Stories | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “A Sign That It’s All Going to Be Alright

  1. How wonderful!

    Welcome, welcome, welcome, Dear Rebekah, to the next chapter of our miraculous Journey.

    You are a heroine.

  2. Thanks for the welcome, dear Lisa. It’s good to be back! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Emotional Overdrive and Sunday’s Serendipitous Sign « Take A Picture Here

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

